Patent Dos and Don'ts for Startups

11AM-12PM PST & Arizona | 12-1PM MST | 1-2PM CST | 2-3PM EST
Duration: 1 hour

Join Shane Olafson and Kyle Siegal of Lewis Roca Rothgerber as they discuss patent tips for startups, including:

  • Carefully allocating precious startup funding
  • Properly limiting disclosure of new products and concepts
  • Understanding patent application timelines
  • Knowing when a provisional application may be appropriate

*Live streaming event from CEI Gateway. Lunch is provided*

Shane Olafson, Partner, Lewis Roca Rothgerber
Shane Olafson is a partner in Lewis Roca Rothgerber's Intellectual Property and Litigation Practice Groups. As an engineer and artist, he understands the importance of innovation and enjoys helping businesses preserve and protect their intellectual property rights. Shane has an "AV/Preeminent Attorney" rating with Martindale-Hubbell, and is listed in the 2012 and 2013 editions of Southwest Rising Stars in the category of Intellectual Property Litigation.

Kyle Siegal, Associate, Lewis Roca Rothgerber
Kyle is a registered patent attorney in Lewis Roca Rothgerber's Intellectual Property Group. He helps clients identify, protect, and enforce intellectual property rights. Kyle leverages his technical background in biomedical engineering and biotechnology to help clients strategically expand patent portfolios and litigate patents disputes. His practice also encompasses trademark prosecution, pre-litigation enforcement matters, licensing arrangements, and trademark, copyright, and right of publicity clearance work.

Moderator: Mary Juetten, Founder & CEO, Traklight
Mary created Traklight while earning her JD and launched the software company in 2011. Traklight offers the only self-guided software platform to create a custom intellectual property (IP) strategy with an integrated storage and filing sharing solution. Mary has dedicated her more-than-25-year career to helping businesses achieve and protect their success. Mary has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from McGill and a Juris Doctorate from Arizona State as well as her US and Canadian and public accountant certifications. Mary is an international writer, speaker, Forbes contributor, and mentor, and she co-chairs the Arizona Technology Council's Law and Technology committee.


Kyle N. Siegal