On April 1st, the Nevada Labor Commissioner announced that the Nevada minimum wage requirements would remain unchanged from 2010. On July 1, 2011, the Nevada minimum wage will remain at $7.25 per hour or $8.25 per hour (depending on whether the employer provides qualified health insurance benefits).
We have assembled this E-Mail Alert to assist you with the legal and practical issues that you as Nevada employers will face in light of the upcoming implementation of these increases -- including whether you are paying the appropriate minimum wage and complying with Nevada’s daily overtime law.
Nevada’s Daily Overtime Requirement
Nevada’s daily overtime law is one of the critical issues Nevada employers must review. In Nevada, any employee who earns less than 1 ½ times the applicable minimum wage must receive overtime for any hours worked over 8 in a work day (or 10-hours in a work day if the employee has agreed to work four 10-hour days).
The below provides guidance on when Nevada employees must receive daily overtime:
Pay daily overtime if employee Pay daily overtime if employee
Effective Date received qualified benefits, does not receive qualified benefits,
and earns less than: and earns less than:
Current $10.88 per hour $12.38 per hour
July 1, 2011 $10.88 per hour $12.38 per hour